REPORT OF LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

(SPECIAL) MEETING HELD ON 11 MAY 2009

Chairman:

* Councillor Mrs Lurline Champagnie

Councillors:

- * Husain Akhtar
- Don Billson
 Mrinal Choudhury
- * G Chowdhury
- Mano Dharmarajah * Thaya Idaikkadar
- I naya Idaikkad
 * Nizam Ismail
- * Denotes Member present

PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS - NIL

PART II - MINUTES

109. Appointment of Vice-Chairman:

RESOLVED: To appoint Councillor Mrs Vina Mithani as Vice-Chairman of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee for the Municipal Year 2009/10.

110. **Declarations of Interest:**

RESOLVED: To note that there were no declarations of interests made by Members in relation to the business to be transacted at this meeting.

111. Minutes:

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee held on 2 March 2009 be deferred to the next ordinary meeting of the Committee.

112. Establishment of Sub-Committee and Panels 2009/10:

In accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, a report was admitted late to the agenda in order to enable meetings of the Sub-Committee and Panels to be convened.

The Chairman informed the Committee of the change of date of the next Licensing and General Purposes Committee which would meet on 8 June 2009 instead of 16 June 2009. A report would be submitted to a future meeting regarding the status and responsibilities of the Committee.

RESOLVED: That the Panels and Sub-Committee of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee be established for the next Municipal Year 2009/10 with the Memberships and Chairmen as detailed in the appendix to these minutes.

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 6.33 pm, closed at 6.39 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR MRS LURLINE CHAMPAGNIE

Chairman

- * Ashok Kulkarni
 - * Mrs Vina Mithani
 - John Nickolay
 - * Phillip O'Dell
 - Raj Ray
 - * Tom Weiss
 - * Jeremy Zeid

APPENDIX 1

	LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES PANELS			
	(Membership in order of political group nominations)			
	<u>Conservative</u>	<u>Labour</u>	Liberal Democrats	
	(1) CHIEF OFFICERS' EMPLOYMENT PANEL (6)			
<u>I.</u> Members	3 [2 Voluntary])	(2)	(1)	
	1. Leader of Group	1. Leader of Group	1. Leader of Group	
	(Councillor David Ashton or nominee) (CH)	(Councillor Bill Stephenson or nominee)	(Councillor Christopher Noyce or nominee)	
	2. Deputy Leader of the Group	2. <u>Deputy Leader of the</u> <u>Group</u>		
	(Councillor Susan Hall or nominee).	(Councillor Phillip O'Dell		
	3. (Councillor Paul Osborn / or relevant PH / nominee).	or nominee).		
	(2) EARLY RETIREMENT SUB-COMMITTEE (3) (Non-proportional)			
	(2)	(1)		
<u>I.</u> Members	Miss Christine Bednell Richard Romain (CH)	Mano Dharmarajah		
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Mrs Lurline Champagnie Narinder Singh Mudhar Jeremy Zeid 	 Keith Ferry Nizam Ismail - 		
	(3) EDUCATION AWARDS APPEALS PANEL (3)			
	(2)	(1)		
<u>l.</u> Members	Miss Christine Bednell(CH) Mrs Lurline Champagnie	Keeki Thammaiah		
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Mrs Camilla Bath Jean Lammiman Mrs Vina Mithani 	1. Raj Ray 2. Nizam Ismail 3		

(4) LICENSING PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Husain Akhtar Don Billson Mrs Lurline Champagnie G Chowdhury Ashok Kulkarni Mrs Vina Mithani John Nickolay Tom Weiss Jeremy Zeid Mrinal Choudhury Mano Dharmarajah Thaya Idaikkadar Nizam Ismail Phillip O'Dell Raj Ray

(5) NATIONAL NON-DOMESTIC RATE: DISCRETIONARY RATE RELIEF APPEAL PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Mrs Camilla Bath Don Billson John Cowan Mrs Myra Michael Joyce Nickolay Dinesh Solanki Mark Versallion Mrinal Choudhury Bob Currie Mano Dharmarajah Keith Ferry Nizam Ismail Krishna James

(6) PENSION FUND INVESTMENTS PANEL (4)

(2)

I. Tony Ferrari <u>Members</u> Richard Romain (CH) Mano Dharmarajah * Thaya Idaikkadar

II.	1.	Mrs Lurline Champagnie
Reserve		Tom Weiss
Members	3.	John Cowan

1 Keith Ferry

2. Mrs Rekhá Shah

Harrow UNISON Co-optee (Non-voting): Mr R Thornton [Alternate: Mr J Rattray] GMB Co-optee: Mr S Karia Co-optee (Non-voting): Howard Bluston

(2)

(7) PERSONNEL APPEALS PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Mrs Camilla Bath Don Billson Mrs Lurline Champagnie John Cowan Manji Kara Jean Lammiman Salim Miah Joyce Nickolay Mrs Anjana Patel Dinesh Solanki Jeremy Zeid Bob Currie Mrs Margaret Davine B E Gate David Gawn Mitzi Green Graham Henson Krishna James Raj Ray Bill Stephenson

(8) SOCIAL SERVICES APPEALS PANEL (3) or ((2)) (Pool of Members)

(2)

((1))

Mrs Lurline Champagnie Mrs Myra Michael Mrs Vina Mithani Eric Silver Dinesh Solanki B E Gate Mitzi Green Asad Omar Mrs Rekha Shah

(CH) = Chair

Denotes Group Members for consultation on Delegated Action and/or administrative matters.